Men's Soccer, Sports

Brown named IIAC defensive MVP, Artist coach of the year

Bob Brown
Bob Brown

Wartburg senior defender Bob Brown was named Iowa Conference Men’s Soccer Defensive MVP and head coach Kirk Artist was awarded as the conference’s Coach of the Year, the league announced Tuesday.

Brown led a Knights’ defense that tied for first in the IIAC for fewest goals allowed with four and is four-for-four on penalty kicks, including a game-winner against Luther in the conference semifinals.

Loras senior midfielder Kevin Cavers was named offensive MVP for the second straight year after tallying six assists and two goals in 16 games.

He’s been named first team All-Conference all four years of his career and is the second Wartburg player to earn an MVP award after Harrison Kibombo-Lugujjo in 2004 and 2006.

Kirk Artist
Kirk Artist

Artist coached a team picked to finish fifth in the conference to a share of first place with Loras and Luther as each team finished with 6-1-0 conference records. The Knights are 17-4-2 heading into Saturday’s Sweet 16 game against Trinity (Texas) in the NCAA Tournament.

The Knights are giving up just 0.66 goals per game after allowing 1.94 during a 7-9-2 campaign last season.

Along with Brown, senior goalkeeper Cade Shatzer and forwards Dan Nadeau and Paris Martins were named first team All-Conference.


Shatzer led the IIAC with a .892 save percentage and allowed only half a goal per game.

Nadeau, a junior, is second in the conference with 11 goals, behind only Simpson’s Mitchell White with 14. Martins is tied for fifth in the league with eight goals in his freshman season.

Martins is the only freshman on the first or second teams. Loras led the IIAC with five first team selections, just ahead of Wartburg’s four. The Duhawks had eight total players listed while the Knights and Luther had seven.

Sophomore defender Kevin Krueger and junior midfielder Brady Anderson were named second team all-conference while sophomore midfielder Connor Johnson, who recently scored the winning goal for the Knights in the second round of the NCAA Tournament, received honorable mention.

First Team All-IIAC — Cade Shatzer (Sr. GK, Wartburg), Erik Berkowitz (Sr. D, Loras), Dan Figura (Sr. D, Loras), Austin Walther (Sr. D, Luther), Bob Brown (Sr. D, Wartburg), Kevin Cavers (Sr. MF, Loras), Tom Fluegel (Jr. MF, Loras), James Garcia-Prats (Sr. MF, Luther), Marcus Varnum (So. MF, Simpson), Paris Martins (Fr. F, Wartburg), Johnny Rummelhart (Jr. F, Loras), Mitchell White (Jr. F, Simpson), Dan Nadeau (Jr. F, Wartburg)

Second Team All-IIAC — Dylan Milkent (Sr. GK, Loras), Martin Stalberger (Jr. D, Luther), Matt Loney (Jr. D, Simpson), Kevin Krueger (So. D, Wartburg), Daniel Peacock (Sr. MF, Central), Chris Fitch (Sr. MF, Coe), Cory Winkler (Sr. MF, Dubuque), Lucas Beato (Sr. MF, Luther), JW Slausen (Jr. MF, Luther), Brady Anderson (Jr. MF, Wartburg), Tim van den Bergh (Sr. F, Loras), Brock Arend (Sr. F, Luther), Tyler Neumann (So. F, Simpson)

Honorable Mention — Drake Ruth (Jr. D, Buena Vista), Brian Fyfe (Jr. D, Central), Aleksander Glavas (Jr. F, Central), Mark Hentschel (Jr. F, Central), Tim Maggard (Sr. GK, Central), Peter Hager (Jr. D, Dubuque), Jonathon Hazelwonder (So. MF, Dubuque), Gonzalo Hernandez (Fr. F, Dubuque), Mike Pizzello (Jr. MF, Loras), Hollie Gray III (Jr. D, Luther), Tommy Breen (So. GK, Luther), Connor Johnson (So. MF, Wartburg)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *