Sports, Track and Field

Women qualify four individuals, two relays for NCAA finals

Libbey Schubert wasn’t satisfied with besting her own Division III-leading time in the 200 meter dash at the Iowa Conference championships just under two weeks ago.

Sure, no other D-III runner in the nation had reached 24.25 seconds this season, but Schubert wanted more — to break 24 seconds.

Thursday, she did just that. Schubert’s time of 23.91 seconds was the top preliminary time at the NCAA Championships in Delaware, Ohio.

None of the other competitors reached Schubert’s previous best of 24.25, with Amherst’s Naomi Bates (24.29) coming closest.

Schubert is one of four Wartburg individuals that advanced to Saturday’s finals in their respective events.

Haddie Vawter ran 4:36.53 in the 1,500 meter run, the second best preliminary time. She avenged an IIAC loss to Luther’s Tricia Serres, who was 11th in 4:37.05.

Wis.-Oshkosh’s Christy Cazzola raced ahead of the field in 4:36.53.

Tashina McAllister was one of three qualifiers to break 1 minute in the 400 meter hurdles, taking the third-best preliminary time of 59.83 seconds into the finals, 1.32 seconds behind top seed Ashante Little of Wheaton (Mass.).

Sammi Bruett grabbed a finals spot in the 3,000 meter steeplechase with the seventh-best preliminary time of 10:48.37. St. Lawrence’s Amy Cymerman led the field in 10:41.32.

Both of Wartburg’s relays also advanced to the finals.

McAllister, Kayla Kregel, Kaly Adkins and Schubert finished with the second-best 4×400 meter relay time of 3:46.31. Wis.-La Crosse (3:44.78) takes the best time into the finals.

Wartburg’s 4×100 meter relay, comprised of Schubert, McAllister, Sarah Boraas and Eric Dynes, finished with the third-best preliminary time (46.84), 0.73 seconds behind top finisher Wis.-La Crosse.

In the 10,000 meter run, Alana Enabnit was unable to finish in her return to the event after missing last year’s chance at defending her national title with an injury.

Elusme ninth

Jonas Elusme was the only men’s competitor for Wartburg on Thursday and he narrowly missed points with a ninth-place finish in the long jump.

Elusme’s best jump was 22 feet, 11 inches, short of his second-place indoor mark of 23 feet, 7 1/2 inches.

Ohio Northern’s Josh Colbert won the national title with a leap of 24 feet, 5 3/4 inches while Wartburg transfer Dominique Neloms was third for Wis.-La Crosse, jumping 23 feet, 8 3/4 inches.

Elsewhere in the Iowa Conference, Dubuque’s Rick Valcin won the NCAA title in the pole vault with a mark of 16 feet, 10 3/4 inches.

Full Results

Competition resumes Friday.

Wartburg Schedule


1:15 p.m. – M shot put finals
4:15 p.m. – W shot put finals
4:30 p.m. – M high jump finals
5:30 p.m. – W 100 meter hurdles prelims
6:30 p.m. – W 100 meter dash prelims
7 p.m. – W 800 meter run prelims


11 a.m. – M discus finals
Noon – W 3,000 meter steeplechase finals
12:40 p.m. – W 4×100 meter relay finals
1 p.m. – W 1,500 meter run finals
1:25 p.m. – W 100 meter hurdles finals
2 p.m. – W discus finals
2:15 p.m. – W 100 meter dash finals
2:35 p.m. – W 800 meter run finals
3 p.m. – W 400 meter hurdles finals
3:25 p.m. – W 200 meter dash finals
4:25 p.m. – W 4×400 meter relay finals

Full Schedule

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *