Sports, Track and Field

Women’s track wins NCAA title

The top-ranked Wartburg women’s track and field team stormed back from 14th place Saturday to win their second straight NCAA championship with 46 points.

The Knights won their third title in five years at the 2013 championships in La Crosse, Wis.

Monique Davisson’s sixth-place finish in the triple jump (12.15m) gave Wartburg the three points they needed to break the first-place tie with Wisconsin-Oshkosh.

The Titans edged the Knights for the indoor championships earlier this spring.

Key point-scorers at the outdoor meet were Sammi Bruett, Kayla Hemann, the 4×100 meter relay team and Tashina McAllister, who all finished as national runners-up.

Bruett took second in the 3,000 meter steeplechase with a time of 10:26.60, a new school record.

Hemann’s throw of 14.68 meters in the shot put earned her second place while teammate Britlyn Sieck finished 12th.

Tashina McAllister, Davisson, Sarah Boraas and Libbey Schubert made up the 4×100 team that took second in a time of 47.12 seconds. The team ensured that Wartburg’s 4×100 would take All-American honors for the eighth straight year.

McAllister placed second in the 400 meter hurdles with a school record time of 59.56 seconds and also earned All-American honors with her fifth-place finish in 14.42 seconds.

Kendra Kregel took home All-American honors for the second straight year by finishing fifth in the 400 meter dash in a time of 55.79 seconds.

Top 15 Teams

1. Wartburg (46), 2. Wisconsin-Oshkosh (43), T3. Buffalo State (41), T3. Ramapo (41), 5. Wisconsin-La Crosse (38), 6. Illinois College (36), 7. Wisconsin-Whitewater (27), 8. Wheaton (Mass.) (26), 9. St. Thomas (24), 10. Williams (22), 11. Rowan (21), 12. Washington (Mo.) (20.5), 13. Johns Hopkins (19), 14. George Fox (18), 15. Monmouth (16.5), T16. Birmingham-Southern (15), T16. Emory (15)


The No. 21 ranked men’s team topped their national ranking by tying for 15th at the NCAA championships.

The Knights finished with 15 points as Daniel Bonthius and Coltin Hahle earned All-American honors on the event’s final day.

Bonthius placed sixth in the 800 meter run with a time of 1:51.71 while Hahle was sixth in the shot put with a throw of 16.76 meters.

Host Wisconsin-La Crosse won the team title with 66 points, edging out WIAC rival Wisconsin-Eau Claire by two.

Top 16 Teams

1. Wisconsin-La Crosse (66), 2. Wisconsin-Eau Claire (64), 3. Wisconsin-Oshkosh (51.5), 4. Wisconsin-Whitewater (40), 5. North Central (Ill.) (36), 6. Oneonta State (29), 7. Whittier (26), 8. Haverford (23), 9. Bates (19), T10. Defiance (18), T10. Whitworth (18), 12. Mount Union (17), T13. Greenville (16), T13. Salisbury (16), T15. Birmingham-Southern (15), T15. Wartburg (15)

Thursday’s Wartburg Results

Friday’s Wartburg Results

Full Results

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *